My mistress……..

I am sitting in the college library. I look around and see a lot of guys and girls busy with many different books. Some of them are, as I can feel, deep into it and there are a few others whose eyes are uneasily moving around and fingers drumming with restlessness, as if they are waiting for a moment of freedom or may be trying to connect with the bulky book resting in front of them on the table. They are not enjoying it and want to stop whatever they are doing. It’s torturous to do something which you don`t enjoy doing. In Steve Jobs’ words “you gotta love what you do. It’s the only way to do great work”.

Outside the sun has set and a veil of dark grey clouds is sweeping across the red canvas. Silhouettes of birds flying across crimson gaps in between clouds are faintly visible. How I wish, I had my camera with me. Alas! My great love is far away from me resting in her cozy bag waiting for her next outing during the weekend. It’s all grey outside and street lights have come alive after a long day break.

As I get back from the room in my house where my love occupies a desktop and across the skies which are turning darker with each passing second and through the tube-lit streets leading to my college gate and the window panes on the fourth floor where I am one among many who is busy with a book, I know that I am just rediscovering my great loves; photography, travelling, observation etc. through my mistress. My mistress, even though I have ignored her many a times, comes back to me at these odd moments giving me her love and care. I too love her  but I am  not able to express it in the way I do with photography. But one day, I`ll  proclaim to others that I have one more to my great love list. I am waiting for that day.

Image

(As I didn`t have my cam with me then, I had to chose from my collection for an appropriate sunset 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

